Aaron Paul Lazar

USA Today Bestselling Author

          "If Mark Twain and Mary Higgins Clark got married, their author-child would be Aaron Paul Lazar.” 
Joan Hall Hovey, best-selling author

About the Author

Aaron Paul Lazar writes to soothe his soul. An award-winning, bestselling Kindle author of three addictive mystery series, romantic suspense series, love stories, and writing books, Aaron enjoys the Genesee Valley countryside in upstate New York, where his characters embrace life, play with their dogs and grandkids, grow sumptuous gardens, and chase bad guys.

Contact Aaron at author@lazarbooks.com  

More about the author:

Aaron Paul Lazar wasn't always a mystery writer. It wasn't until eight members of his family and friends died within five years that the urge to write became overwhelming. "When my father died, I lost it. I needed an outlet, and writing provided the kind of solace I couldn't find elsewhere."

Lazar created the Gus LeGarde mystery series, with the founding novel, DOUBLE FORTÉ (2004), a chilling winter mystery set in the Genesee Valley of upstate New York. Like Lazar's father, protagonist Gus LeGarde is a classical music professor. Gus, a grandfather, gardener, chef, and nature lover, plays Chopin etudes to feed his soul and thinks of himself as a "Renaissance man caught in the 21st century."

The creation of the series lent Lazar the comfort he sought, yet in the process, a new passion was unleashed. Obsessed with his parallel universe, he now lives, breathes, and dreams about his characters, and has written eleven LeGarde mysteries. 

One day while rototilling his gardens, Lazar unearthed a green cat's eye marble, which prompted the new paranormal mystery series featuring Sam Moore, retired country doctor and zealous gardener. The green marble, a powerful talisman, connects all three of the books in the series, whisking Sam back in time to uncover his brother's dreadful fate fifty years earlier. (The Disappearance of Bill Moore; Terror Comes Knocking, and For Keeps.) Lazar intends to continue both series and has since added another mystery series entitled Tall Pines Mysteries, set in the Adirondack Mountains. For the Birds, Essentially Yours, Sanctuary, and Betrayal are the first four contemporary books in this series told from a woman's point of view.

In 2013, Mr. Lazar branched out and began writing romantic suspense and love stories. He now has two new series, Bittersweet Hollow and Paines Creek Beach love stories. 


When his wife asked him to write a love story, the Paines Creek Beach series was launched. Now with three sumptuous books set on the beaches of Cape Cod, Lazar intends to continue writing books like The SeacrestThe Seacroft, and The Seadog. 

And when he heard about the women held captive in Cleveland for ten years, he was appalled, and couldn't help but imagine how hard it must have been for the brave women who endured such atrocities. Devil's Lake was the result of this, starting the romantic suspense series Bittersweet Hollow. Devil's Creek and Devil's Spring (coming Jan 2017) are books 2 and 3. 

Lazar's books feature breathless chase scenes, nasty villains, and taut suspense, but are also intensely human stories, replete with kids, dogs, horses, food, romance, and humor. 

"It seems as though every image ever impressed upon my brain finds its way into my work. Whether it's the light dancing through stained-glass windows in a Parisian chapel, curly slate-green lichen covering a boulder at the edge of a pond in Maine, or hoarfrost dangling from a cherry tree branch in mid-winter, these images burrow into my memory cells. In time they bubble back, persistently itching, until they are poured out on the page."

Aaron Lazar lives on a ridge overlooking the Genesee Valley in upstate New York with his wife, mother-in-law, beloved Cavipoo, Balto, Cavachon, Amber, and cats, Romeo, Cameo, Tiger Lily, and Tinkerbell. He has six grandchildren and loves every one of them so much it hurts. ;o)